Marvel Studios announces 9 new movies through 2019


Marvel civil-war

Phase 3 is absolutely huge, with nine new films including Captain Marvel, Black Panther and a two part Avengers: Infinity War movie. Your brain just melted.

During a “secret” event for fans and press today in Los Angeles at Disney’s El Capitan theater, Marvel Studios melted fans’ brains when it revealed titles and release dates for all nine Marvel Phase 3 films.

Following Avengers 2, the studio will be releasing:

  • Captain America: Civil War (May 6th, 2016);
  • Dr. Strange (Nov. 4th, 2016);
  • Guardians of the Galaxy 2 (May 5th, 2017);
  • Thor: Ragnarok (July 18th, 2017);
  • Black Panther (November 3, 2017);
  • Avengers: Infinity War, Part 1 (May 4th, 2018);
  • Captain Marvel (July 6th, 2018);
  • Inhumans (November 2nd, 2018);
  • Avengers: Infinty War, Part 2 (May 3rd, 2019).

The presentation began with a deliberate and hilarious bit of misdirection, as it was first announced that Captain America 3 would be subtitled “Serpent Society.” Obviously, that would have contradicted all recent rumors suggesting a battle between Tony Stark and Steve Rogers influenced by Marvel’s Civil War crossover event. However, midway through the presentation, Marvel corrected itself, revealing “Civil War” as Robert Downey, Jr. and Chris Evans were brought out on stage for the announcement.

Meanwhile, 42 actor Chadwick Boseman was announced as the lead in Black Panther, introduced to fans formally by Robert Downey, Jr. and Chris Evans during a skit in which Downey, Jr. and Evans pretended to fight, then demanded Boseman pick sides. Cue wild speculation on how Black Panther will* officially debut in the MCU during Cap 3. It’s worth noting, by the way, that in the comics, Black Panther is from the fictional African nation of Wakanda, notable among other things for being the source of the Vibranium used to make Captain America’s shield.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.